Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

We help clients to see and do things in a new way.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Evaluations

Our goal is to improve the effectiveness of your operations through evaluation, information gathering and concrete development suggestions.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research and studies

Get functional concepts, analyses and reports based on research data

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures and camps

Invite us to host an event nobody wants to miss

Read more

Information services and data-analysis

We solve the challenges of public sector information management.

Read more

Experimental Development

Test with us the bold attitude of learning together and get results quickly.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

27 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Development Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Rasmus Aro, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 187 1027 rasmus.aro@mdi.fi

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Lead Specialist +358 45 657 7890 timo.aro@mdi.fi

Benjamin Heikkinen, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 40 410 9310 benjamin.heikkinen@mdi.fi

Sebastian Hovi, M.SOC.SC., POL. SC. STUD.

Specialist 0408203342 sebastian.hovi@mdi.fi

Marjo Honkaranta, M.A.

Specialist 050 329 4015 marjo.honkaranta@mdi.fi

Jaakko Huttunen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 44 970 7798 jaakko.huttunen@mdi.fi

Aleksi Koivisto, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 686 2604 aleksi.koivisto@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer +358 50 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Eveliina Kuusisto, B.Soc.Sc.

Specialist 050 469 3281 eveliina.kuusisto@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Lead Specialist, Partner +358 50 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Anna Laiho, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 749 9758 anna.laiho@mdi.fi

Kaisa Lähteenmäki-Smith, PhD, (POL.SC.) & International Relations

Lead Specialist 050 513 4810 kaisa.lahteenmaki-smith@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, M.Soc.Sc. (Political Science)

Specialist +358 50 356 3980 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Minna Mayer, D.Soc.Sc.

Leading Specialist +358 40 709 6898 minna.mayer@mdi.fi

Juho Nyman, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist +358 50 321 8790 juho.nyman@mdi.fi

Sari Pitkänen, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 044 781 3185 sari.pitkanen@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist +358 40 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Lead Specialist +358 50 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Henrika Ruokonen, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 848 5557 henrika.ruokonen@mdi.fi

Janne Sinerma, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 861 7670 janne.sinerma@mdi.fi

Kirsi Siltanen, M. Sc. (Admin)

Specialist 040 667 4678 kirsi.siltanen@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, M.Sc.

Specialist +358 50 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Iina Tunkkari, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 0400194301 iina.tunkkari@mdi.fi

Mikko Valtakari, Lic. Phil. (Planning Geography)

Lead Specialist, Partner +358 40 569 1568 mikko.valtakari@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Kristiina Erkkilä, Ph.D, M.A.

Advisor, education and urban development 040 705 3952 kristiina.erkkila@mdi.fi

Kari Hannus, M. Sc. (Tech.)

Advisor, land use, housing and traffic, municipal economics +358 50 2970

Kristiina Helenius, M.Sc. (Econ)

Advisor, International affairs, United States +358 45 122 6051 / +1 202 365 9174

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Lauri Lamminmäki, M. Pol. Sc

Advisor, municipal sector 044 971 5300 lauri.lamminmaki@outlook.com

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

Jari Kolehmainen, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Senior Advisor, urban and regional development +358 40 584 9077 jari.kolehmainen@mdi.fi

Natalia Rincon, M.Sc. Architecture, PHD candidate in Smart Cities

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 9359 824

Timo Widbom, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Advisor, spatial data & information services timo.widbom@gmail.com

Chris Smith, M.Litt (Strategic Studies), PhD Candidate in Public Administration

Advisor 040 757 7573 chris.smith@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor

Antti Suvanto, Dr. Pol. Sc

Advisor, economy and finance

Eila Valtanen, M. Sc., eMBA

Advisor, municipalities, forest and wood cluster, the North 040 056 9716 lentualta@gmail.com

Matti Vatilo, Architect

Advisor mattivatilo@gmail.com

Established partners

Mari Dawe,

Client Manager +358 50 441 3209 mari.dawe@bstr.fi

Juha Eskelinen, D.SC.

Entrepreneur, researcher, consultant, Melkior Oy 040 081 3858 juha.eskelinen@melkior.fi

Jouko Järnefelt,

Senior Analyst, Ubigu Oy 050 373 3638 jouko.jarnefelt@ubigu.fi

Jouko Luukkonen, M.Sc. (Admin.), MBA

Owner, entrepreneur, LGR-Consulting Oy +358 45 189 3138 jouko.luukkonen@kotinet.com

Minna Utriainen,

COO, Strategist, Avidly +358 40 834 4482 minna.utriainen@avidlyagency.com

VASEK

Information service for VASEK

Read more

Prime Minister's Office

INNOVA - Impact assessment and indicators of innovation ecosystems

Read more

YritysSalo Oy

Salo, Data package for enterprises and investors

Read more

Regional Council of Satakunta

Facilitation of Satakunta RDI-forums workshops

Read more

MDI will be responsible for leading and coordinating the interaction activities in a project funded by the Strategic Research Council

MDI participates, as an interaction leader, in the Economic and social sustainability across time and space in an ageing society (SustAgeable) project which is funded by the Strategic Research Council (SRC) of the Academy of Finland. The project is part of the Demographic Changes – Causes, Consequences and Solutions, DEMOGRAPHY (2021–2027) programme which will be … Continue reading MDI will be responsible for leading and coordinating the interaction activities in a project funded by the Strategic Research Council

Read more

The Finnish National Rural Parliament invites you to discuss rural development – MDI involved in the Virtual Partner Page

This year we are a partner in the Rural Parliament event. As part of the event, we will be hosting two virtual workshops while, in addition, we will also be participating in the virtual ‘Partner Marketplace’ where MDI will present our workshop materials to the other Partner participants. The workshop on ‘How to get multi-local … Continue reading The Finnish National Rural Parliament invites you to discuss rural development – MDI involved in the Virtual Partner Page

Read more

The Helsinki region was fourth in the competitiveness comparison of Nordic metropolitan areas

MDI studied the perspective of LHT planning (MAL in Finnish), emphasising the international competitiveness of the Helsinki region in relation to the metropoles of Stockholm, Gothenburg, Oslo and Copenhagen-Malmö. The comparison also included the urban areas of Tallinn and Riga, the results of which were combined in the overall comparison into ‘Baltic urban areas’. The … Continue reading The Helsinki region was fourth in the competitiveness comparison of Nordic metropolitan areas

Read more

Preparations for the new cultural programme begin in Nokia

Preparations for the Nokia City Culture Programme have begun. The programme, which will be completed next spring, will be worked on in various ways together with local residents, decision-makers and cultural actors. The culture programme determines how Nokia’s city goals, e.g. the activity and well-being of local residents, the vitality of the city, ecology and … Continue reading Preparations for the new cultural programme begin in Nokia

Read more