Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

We help clients to see and do things in a new way.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Evaluations

Our goal is to improve the effectiveness of your operations through evaluation, information gathering and concrete development suggestions.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research and studies

Get functional concepts, analyses and reports based on research data

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures and camps

Invite us to host an event nobody wants to miss

Read more

Information services and data-analysis

We solve the challenges of public sector information management.

Read more

Experimental Development

Test with us the bold attitude of learning together and get results quickly.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

27 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Marjo Alaviitala, M.A.

Specialist 050 329 4015 marjo.alaviitala@mdi.fi

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Development Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Rasmus Aro, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 187 1027 rasmus.aro@mdi.fi

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Lead Specialist +358 45 657 7890 timo.aro@mdi.fi

Benjamin Heikkinen, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 40 410 9310 benjamin.heikkinen@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Jaakko Huttunen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 44 970 7798 jaakko.huttunen@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer +358 50 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Aleksi Koivisto, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 686 2604 aleksi.koivisto@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Lead Specialist, Partner +358 50 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Anna Laiho, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 749 9758 anna.laiho@mdi.fi

Kaisa Lähteenmäki-Smith, PhD, (POL.SC.) & International Relations

Lead Specialist 050 513 4810 kaisa.lahteenmaki-smith@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, M.Soc.Sc. (Political Science)

Specialist +358 50 356 3980 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Minna Mayer, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 40 709 6898 minna.mayer@mdi.fi

Veera Mustonen, M.A.

Lead Specialist 040 508 4022 veera.mustonen@mdi.fi

Iida Mäkelä, B. Soc. Sc.

Specialist 044 588 7040 iida.makela@mdi.fi

Juho Nyman, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist +358 50 321 8790 juho.nyman@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist +358 40 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Lead Specialist +358 50 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Henrika Ruokonen, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 848 5557 henrika.ruokonen@mdi.fi

Kirsi Siltanen, M. Sc. (Admin)

Specialist 040 667 4678 kirsi.siltanen@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, M.Sc.

Specialist +358 50 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Mikko Valtakari, Lic. Phil. (Planning Geography)

Lead Specialist, Partner +358 40 569 1568 mikko.valtakari@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Kristiina Erkkilä, Ph.D, M.A.

Advisor, education and urban development 040 705 3952 kristiina.erkkila@mdi.fi

Kari Hannus, M. Sc. (Tech.)

Advisor, land use, housing and traffic, municipal economics +358 50 2970

Kristiina Helenius, M.Sc. (Econ)

Advisor, International affairs, United States +358 45 122 6051 / +1 202 365 9174

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Lauri Lamminmäki, M. Pol. Sc

Advisor, municipal sector 044 971 5300 lauri.lamminmaki@outlook.com

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

Jari Kolehmainen, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Senior Advisor, urban and regional development +358 40 584 9077 jari.kolehmainen@mdi.fi

Natalia Rincon, M.Sc. Architecture, PHD candidate in Smart Cities

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 9359 824

Chris Smith, M.Litt (Strategic Studies), PhD Candidate in Public Administration

Advisor 040 757 7573 chris.smith@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor

Antti Suvanto, Dr. Pol. Sc

Advisor, economy and finance

Eila Valtanen, M. Sc., eMBA

Advisor, municipalities, forest and wood cluster, the North 040 056 9716 lentualta@gmail.com

Matti Vatilo, Architect

Advisor mattivatilo@gmail.com

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Established partners

Mari Dawe,

Client Manager +358 50 441 3209 mari.dawe@bstr.fi

Juha Eskelinen, D.SC.

Entrepreneur, researcher, consultant, Melkior Oy 040 081 3858 juha.eskelinen@melkior.fi

Jouko Järnefelt,

Senior Analyst, Ubigu Oy 050 373 3638 jouko.jarnefelt@ubigu.fi

Jouko Luukkonen, M.Sc. (Admin.), MBA

Owner, entrepreneur, LGR-Consulting Oy +358 45 189 3138 jouko.luukkonen@kotinet.com

Minna Utriainen,

COO, Strategist, Avidly +358 40 834 4482 minna.utriainen@avidlyagency.com

Association of Finnish Municipalities

Covid19 update of urban policy for the Association of Finnish Municipalities

Read more

Prizztech

EDIH comparative analysis between the Western Finland consortium area and other provinces

Read more

The Finnish Association of Fire Officers

Future view of contract fire brigades

Read more

Bridge agreements have had a positive effect on regional development

MDI carried out a study  for the Ministry of Employment and the Economy on the operating model, process and effects of bridge agreements between the state and the regions and presented proposals for developing the operating model. In 2018–2020, the state entered into bridge agreements with Southwest Finland, Kainuu, Pirkanmaa and North-Savo to identify and … Continue reading Bridge agreements have had a positive effect on regional development

Read more

Big cities are in trouble – changes in urban policy are needed

MDI provided a concise overview of urban development in the post-corona period. In addition to this urban policy update, it also highlighted the role of the Association of Finnish Municipalities in the making of urban policy. The work was produced for the Association of Finnish Municipalities as part of the ‘To the City!’ -project, in … Continue reading Big cities are in trouble – changes in urban policy are needed

Read more

There is effective co-operation in rural development in Kainuu, but the goal-orientation must be strengthened

The evaluation carried out by MDI examined the implementation of the Kainuu Regional Rural Development Plan 2014–2020 and whether it was effective and met its objectives. In addition, good practices in project and business support were examined. The evaluation was carried out in the period April – September 2020, based on documentary and indicator analysis, … Continue reading There is effective co-operation in rural development in Kainuu, but the goal-orientation must be strengthened

Read more

A peer review of the four provincial programmes was launched

The regional councils of the provinces of Southwest Finland, Uusimaa, Kanta-Häme and Kymenlaakso have decided to carry out the evaluation of their provincial programmes in the form of a peer review between the councils. The peer review started on 30.9. with an evaluation workshop in Turku, launching a series of four evaluation workshops. The role … Continue reading A peer review of the four provincial programmes was launched

Read more