Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

We help clients to see and do things in a new way.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Evaluations

Our goal is to improve the effectiveness of your operations through evaluation, information gathering and concrete development suggestions.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research and studies

Get functional concepts, analyses and reports based on research data

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures and camps

Invite us to host an event nobody wants to miss

Read more

Information services and data-analysis

We solve the challenges of public sector information management.

Read more

Experimental Development

Test with us the bold attitude of learning together and get results quickly.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

27 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Marjo Alaviitala, M.A.

Specialist 050 329 4015 marjo.alaviitala@mdi.fi

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Development Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Rasmus Aro, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 187 1027 rasmus.aro@mdi.fi

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Lead Specialist +358 45 657 7890 timo.aro@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Benjamin Heikkinen, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 40 410 9310 benjamin.heikkinen@mdi.fi

Sebastian Hovi, M.SOC.SC., POL. SC. STUD.

Specialist 0408203342 sebastian.hovi@mdi.fi

Jaakko Huttunen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 44 970 7798 jaakko.huttunen@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer +358 50 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Eveliina Kuusisto, B.Soc.Sc.

Specialist, trainee 050 469 3281 eveliina.kuusisto@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Lead Specialist, Partner +358 50 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Aleksi Koivisto, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 686 2604 aleksi.koivisto@mdi.fi

Anna Laiho, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 749 9758 anna.laiho@mdi.fi

Kaisa Lähteenmäki-Smith, PhD, (POL.SC.) & International Relations

Lead Specialist 050 513 4810 kaisa.lahteenmaki-smith@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, M.Soc.Sc. (Political Science)

Specialist +358 50 356 3980 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Minna Mayer, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 40 709 6898 minna.mayer@mdi.fi

Veera Mustonen, M.A.

Lead Specialist 040 508 4022 veera.mustonen@mdi.fi

Iida Mäkelä, B. Soc. Sc.

Specialist 044 588 7040 iida.makela@mdi.fi

Juho Nyman, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist +358 50 321 8790 juho.nyman@mdi.fi

Sari Pitkänen, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 044 781 3185 sari.pitkanen@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist +358 40 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Lead Specialist +358 50 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Henrika Ruokonen, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 848 5557 henrika.ruokonen@mdi.fi

Kirsi Siltanen, M. Sc. (Admin)

Specialist 040 667 4678 kirsi.siltanen@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, M.Sc.

Specialist +358 50 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Iina Tunkkari, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 0400194301 iina.tunkkari@mdi.fi

Mikko Valtakari, Lic. Phil. (Planning Geography)

Lead Specialist, Partner +358 40 569 1568 mikko.valtakari@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Kristiina Erkkilä, Ph.D, M.A.

Advisor, education and urban development 040 705 3952 kristiina.erkkila@mdi.fi

Kari Hannus, M. Sc. (Tech.)

Advisor, land use, housing and traffic, municipal economics +358 50 2970

Kristiina Helenius, M.Sc. (Econ)

Advisor, International affairs, United States +358 45 122 6051 / +1 202 365 9174

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Lauri Lamminmäki, M. Pol. Sc

Advisor, municipal sector 044 971 5300 lauri.lamminmaki@outlook.com

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

Jari Kolehmainen, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Senior Advisor, urban and regional development +358 40 584 9077 jari.kolehmainen@mdi.fi

Natalia Rincon, M.Sc. Architecture, PHD candidate in Smart Cities

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 9359 824

Timo Widbom, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Advisor, spatial data & information services timo.widbom@gmail.com

Chris Smith, M.Litt (Strategic Studies), PhD Candidate in Public Administration

Advisor 040 757 7573 chris.smith@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor

Antti Suvanto, Dr. Pol. Sc

Advisor, economy and finance

Eila Valtanen, M. Sc., eMBA

Advisor, municipalities, forest and wood cluster, the North 040 056 9716 lentualta@gmail.com

Matti Vatilo, Architect

Advisor mattivatilo@gmail.com

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Established partners

Mari Dawe,

Client Manager +358 50 441 3209 mari.dawe@bstr.fi

Juha Eskelinen, D.SC.

Entrepreneur, researcher, consultant, Melkior Oy 040 081 3858 juha.eskelinen@melkior.fi

Jouko Järnefelt,

Senior Analyst, Ubigu Oy 050 373 3638 jouko.jarnefelt@ubigu.fi

Jouko Luukkonen, M.Sc. (Admin.), MBA

Owner, entrepreneur, LGR-Consulting Oy +358 45 189 3138 jouko.luukkonen@kotinet.com

Minna Utriainen,

COO, Strategist, Avidly +358 40 834 4482 minna.utriainen@avidlyagency.com

Novia University of Applied Sciences

Planning and implementing a webinar to Novia

Read more

Prime Minister's Office

Education market in Finland

Read more

CSIL (Centre for Industrial Studies) / DG REGIO

Study on the monitoring data on ERDF and Cohesion Fund operations and on the monitoring systems operated in the 2014-2020 period

Read more

A comprehensive data package supports placement of enterprises in Salo

MDI produced a data package for Salo in order to attract enterprises and investments to the area. The data package includes key figures on the accessibility area, population, workforce, business environment, regional economy, infrastructure and the living environment. The main goal of the project was to produce a visually comprehensive and informative data package for … Continue reading A comprehensive data package supports placement of enterprises in Salo

Read more

Information service for the Vaasa region provides up-to-date information on development with regional development indicators

The Vaasa region development company VASEK has introduced an information service that brings together statistics and visualisations on population, employment, attractiveness, business and the regional economy. MDI set up the information service for VASEK and its member municipalities to support their information management flows. The municipalities of the Vaasa region include Vaasa, Isokyrö, Korsnäs, Laihia, … Continue reading Information service for the Vaasa region provides up-to-date information on development with regional development indicators

Read more

Extensive situational picture of regional development 2020 updated – No major changes in the rankings

MDI has updated the Index of Regional Development which collates municipal development in the light of the latest statistics and compares employment, attractiveness, business, education, wellbeing and economic development with 17 statistical variables in the municipalities. Each municipality in Mainland Finland has its own index number. Compared to the index in 2019, the top of … Continue reading Extensive situational picture of regional development 2020 updated – No major changes in the rankings

Read more

Eveliina Kuusisto started as a trainee

At the beginning of March, Eveliina Kuusisto (B.Soc.Sc.) joined the MDI team when she started as a trainee. Eveliina is a Master’s student in International Relations, specialised in environmental, climate and energy issues and sustainable development. She has also studied regional policy, political science and leadership communication. Eveliina is at her strongest in the world … Continue reading Eveliina Kuusisto started as a trainee

Read more