Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

We help clients to see and do things in a new way.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Evaluations

Our goal is to improve the effectiveness of your operations through evaluation, information gathering and concrete development suggestions.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research and studies

Get functional concepts, analyses and reports based on research data

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures and camps

Invite us to host an event nobody wants to miss

Read more

Information services and data-analysis

We solve the challenges of public sector information management.

Read more

Experimental Development

Test with us the bold attitude of learning together and get results quickly.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

27 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Marjo Alaviitala, M.A.

Specialist 050 329 4015 marjo.alaviitala@mdi.fi

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Development Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Rasmus Aro, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 187 1027 rasmus.aro@mdi.fi

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Lead Specialist +358 45 657 7890 timo.aro@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Benjamin Heikkinen, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 40 410 9310 benjamin.heikkinen@mdi.fi

Sebastian Hovi, M.SOC.SC., POL. SC. STUD.

Specialist 0408203342 sebastian.hovi@mdi.fi

Jaakko Huttunen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 44 970 7798 jaakko.huttunen@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer +358 50 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Lead Specialist, Partner +358 50 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Aleksi Koivisto, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 686 2604 aleksi.koivisto@mdi.fi

Anna Laiho, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 749 9758 anna.laiho@mdi.fi

Kaisa Lähteenmäki-Smith, PhD, (POL.SC.) & International Relations

Lead Specialist 050 513 4810 kaisa.lahteenmaki-smith@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, M.Soc.Sc. (Political Science)

Specialist +358 50 356 3980 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Minna Mayer, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 40 709 6898 minna.mayer@mdi.fi

Iida Mäkelä, M. Soc. Sc. (Economics)

Specialist 044 588 7040 iida.makela@mdi.fi

Veera Mustonen, M.A.

Lead Specialist 040 508 4022 veera.mustonen@mdi.fi

Juho Nyman, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist +358 50 321 8790 juho.nyman@mdi.fi

Sari Pitkänen, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 044 781 3185 sari.pitkanen@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist +358 40 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Lead Specialist +358 50 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Henrika Ruokonen, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 848 5557 henrika.ruokonen@mdi.fi

Kirsi Siltanen, M. Sc. (Admin)

Specialist 040 667 4678 kirsi.siltanen@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, M.Sc.

Specialist +358 50 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Iina Tunkkari, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 0400194301 iina.tunkkari@mdi.fi

Mikko Valtakari, Lic. Phil. (Planning Geography)

Lead Specialist, Partner +358 40 569 1568 mikko.valtakari@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Kristiina Erkkilä, Ph.D, M.A.

Advisor, education and urban development 040 705 3952 kristiina.erkkila@mdi.fi

Kari Hannus, M. Sc. (Tech.)

Advisor, land use, housing and traffic, municipal economics +358 50 2970

Kristiina Helenius, M.Sc. (Econ)

Advisor, International affairs, United States +358 45 122 6051 / +1 202 365 9174

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Lauri Lamminmäki, M. Pol. Sc

Advisor, municipal sector 044 971 5300 lauri.lamminmaki@outlook.com

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

Jari Kolehmainen, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Senior Advisor, urban and regional development +358 40 584 9077 jari.kolehmainen@mdi.fi

Natalia Rincon, M.Sc. Architecture, PHD candidate in Smart Cities

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 9359 824

Timo Widbom, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Advisor, spatial data & information services timo.widbom@gmail.com

Chris Smith, M.Litt (Strategic Studies), PhD Candidate in Public Administration

Advisor 040 757 7573 chris.smith@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor

Antti Suvanto, Dr. Pol. Sc

Advisor, economy and finance

Eila Valtanen, M. Sc., eMBA

Advisor, municipalities, forest and wood cluster, the North 040 056 9716 lentualta@gmail.com

Matti Vatilo, Architect

Advisor mattivatilo@gmail.com

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Established partners

Mari Dawe,

Client Manager +358 50 441 3209 mari.dawe@bstr.fi

Juha Eskelinen, D.SC.

Entrepreneur, researcher, consultant, Melkior Oy 040 081 3858 juha.eskelinen@melkior.fi

Jouko Järnefelt,

Senior Analyst, Ubigu Oy 050 373 3638 jouko.jarnefelt@ubigu.fi

Jouko Luukkonen, M.Sc. (Admin.), MBA

Owner, entrepreneur, LGR-Consulting Oy +358 45 189 3138 jouko.luukkonen@kotinet.com

Minna Utriainen,

COO, Strategist, Avidly +358 40 834 4482 minna.utriainen@avidlyagency.com

Ministry of Education and Culture

TETTI - Implementation, equality and accessibility of TET sessions during basic education

Read more

South Karelia Social and Health Care District (Eksote)

Workshops in support of the health and social services reform

Read more

Prime Minister's Office

Study on the effects of remote work on greenhouse gas emissions from transport

Read more

City of Helsinki

Facilitation of OmaStadi workshops (teemaraksa)

Read more

Press release: Finland will become more urbanised, regionalised and internationalised in the 2020s and 2030s

MDI’s new population forecast up to 2040 shows that Finland’s internal population development will continue to diverge during the 2020s and 2030s. The forecast confirms the growth trend in respect of Finland’s larger cities and thus the continuing process of urbanisation. This ‘third wave’ of regionalisation does however display some new features, primarily, the expansion … Continue reading Press release: Finland will become more urbanised, regionalised and internationalised in the 2020s and 2030s

Read more

According to our recent evaluation, the Tolkkupaja project has succeeded in providing relevant activities for young people and in providing ideas for them to better plan their own futures.

The Tolkkupaja project is an ESF-funded development project implemented by the City of Seinäjoki’s youth services, the aim of which is to support and guide young people under the age of 30 towards inclusion, education and participation in working life. MDI carried out an evaluation of the Tolkkupaja project during the period 2019–2021. The aim … Continue reading According to our recent evaluation, the Tolkkupaja project has succeeded in providing relevant activities for young people and in providing ideas for them to better plan their own futures.

Read more

Recognition given to Mikko Valtakari and Juha Eskelinen for the research quality and significance of their 2020 Labour Force and Labour Market article

The Editorial Board of the Labour Policy Magazine has awarded a certificate of honor to Mikko Valtakari, leading specialist at MDI and Juha Eskelinen, CEO of Melkior Oy and researcher at Aalto University, in recognition of the 2020 Labour Force and Labour Market article ‘Methodological Challenges in Employment Impact Assessment – Experiences from Recent Evaluations’. … Continue reading Recognition given to Mikko Valtakari and Juha Eskelinen for the research quality and significance of their 2020 Labour Force and Labour Market article

Read more

VN TEAS study: The current financing model of income support has little effect on the activities of the municipalities

According to a study carried out by NHG and MDI, municipalities can influence the need for income support only indirectly, namely, by promoting employment, supporting health and wellbeing and increasing the availability of affordable housing. Municipalities monitor basic income support expenditure more irregularly than before. The granting of basic income support was transferred from the … Continue reading VN TEAS study: The current financing model of income support has little effect on the activities of the municipalities

Read more