Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

We help clients to see and do things in a new way.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Evaluations

Our goal is to improve the effectiveness of your operations through evaluation, information gathering and concrete development suggestions.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research and studies

Get functional concepts, analyses and reports based on research data

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures and camps

Invite us to host an event nobody wants to miss

Read more

Information services and data-analysis

We solve the challenges of public sector information management.

Read more

Experimental Development

Test with us the bold attitude of learning together and get results quickly.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

27 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Marjo Alaviitala, M.A.

Specialist 050 329 4015 marjo.alaviitala@mdi.fi

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Design Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Rasmus Aro, B.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 187 1027 rasmus.aro@mdi.fi

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 45 657 7890 timo.aro@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Benjamin Heikkinen, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 40 410 9310 benjamin.heikkinen@mdi.fi

Jaakko Huttunen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 44 970 7798 jaakko.huttunen@mdi.fi

Jouko Järnefelt, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist 050 373 3638 jouko.jarnefelt@mdi.fi

Aleksi Koivisto, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 686 2604 aleksi.koivisto@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer +358 50 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist, Partner +358 50 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Anna Laiho, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 749 9758 anna.laiho@mdi.fi

Kaisa Lähteenmäki-Smith, PhD, (POL.SC.) & International Relations

Development Director 050 513 4810 kaisa.lahteenmaki-smith@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, M.Soc.Sc. (Political Science)

Specialist +358 50 356 3980 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Minna Mayer, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 40 709 6898 minna.mayer@mdi.fi

Veera Mustonen, M.A.

Specialist 040 508 4022 veera.mustonen@mdi.fi

Iida Mäkelä, B. Soc. Sc.

Specialist 044 588 7040 iida.makela@mdi.fi

Juho Nyman, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist +358 50 321 8790 juho.nyman@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist +358 40 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Specialist +358 50 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Henrika Ruokonen, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 848 5557 henrika.ruokonen@mdi.fi

Kirsi Siltanen, M. Sc. (Admin)

Specialist 040 667 4678 kirsi.siltanen@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, M.Sc.

Specialist +358 50 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Jere Talvitie, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 50 301 4698 jere.talvitie@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Mikko Valtakari, Lic. Phil. (Planning Geography)

Specialist, partner +358 40 569 1568 mikko.valtakari@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Jarl Matti Anttila, M.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Partner, Board Member 041 439 2582 matti.anttila@mdi.fi

Kari Hannus, M. Sc. (Tech.)

Advisor, land use, housing and traffic, municipal economics +358 50 2970

Kristiina Helenius, M.Sc. (Econ)

Advisor, International affairs, United States +358 45 122 6051 / +1 202 365 9174

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

Jari Kolehmainen, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Senior Advisor, urban and regional development +358 40 584 9077 jari.kolehmainen@mdi.fi

Marika Koramo, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Advisor 040 822 4398

Natalia Rincon, M.Sc. Architecture, PHD candidate in Smart Cities

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 9359 824

Chris Smith, M.Litt (Strategic Studies), PhD Candidate in Public Administration

Advisor 040 757 7573 chris.smith@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor

Katja Syvärinen, M.A.

Advisor 050 463 7673

Anssi Uitto

Anssi Uitto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Partner, Board Member 040 527 3844 anssi.uitto@mdi.fi

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Established partners

Eero Laesterä, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Chairperson of the Board, Perlacon Oy +358 400 735 772 eero.laestera@perlacon.fi

Jouko Luukkonen, M.Sc. (Admin.), MBA

Owner, entrepreneur, LGR-Consulting Oy +358 45 189 3138 jouko.luukkonen@kotinet.com

Mari Dawe,

Client Manager +358 50 441 3209 mari.dawe@bstr.fi

Minna Utriainen,

COO, Strategist, Avidly +358 40 834 4482 minna.utriainen@avidlyagency.com

Evaluation of Finnish cereal and oilseed sector

Read more

The Council of Tampere Region

Innovation Ecosystem Knowledge Management Workshops in Pirkanmaa

Read more

VN TEAS

Measuring the impact of multidisciplinary cooperation in youth employment services (Monet)

Read more

Business Tampere

Business Tampere – information package

Read more

The impacts of innovation-, training- and cooperation of Rural Area Programme have been evaluated

According to the evaluation, training and cooperation measures under the Rural Area Programme have improved the skills of rural developers and entrepreneurs and created networks. Network-based development has strengthened knowledge sharing and the emergence of new products and services. The innovativeness of the program is reflected in the dissemination of knowledge, but investments in translating … Continue reading The impacts of innovation-, training- and cooperation of Rural Area Programme have been evaluated

Read more

Article: “Good life” in “shrinking regions”

Social science is often very conceptual. The words we use determine our universe and our area of exploration. As such they are fundamentally important. Spatial planning and regional development have both been constructed on a logic and language of expansion and growth, with the notion of de-growth or alternatives to growth having emerged only recently … Continue reading Article: “Good life” in “shrinking regions”

Read more

The development of shrinking areas was thrashed out in the Rural panel discussion

In the context of the Rural Researchers’ Meeting, we organised a discussion on the theme of Happy in the Countryside – Developing shrinking areas. The panel provided insights into what good living in the countryside is, what future prospects are in the countryside and what action is needed in shrinking areas to support good living … Continue reading The development of shrinking areas was thrashed out in the Rural panel discussion

Read more

Journey to the Forest Lapp Culture

At the beginning of the summer, a project to investigate the Forest Lapp Culture and its Advancement of the cultural characteristics of the Forest Lapp People ended. The MDI study, which was part of the Government’s research activities, applied to a population largely unknown to the general public. Through interviews, workshops and surveys, we explored … Continue reading Journey to the Forest Lapp Culture

Read more