Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

We help clients to see and do things in a new way.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Evaluations

Our goal is to improve the effectiveness of your operations through evaluation, information gathering and concrete development suggestions.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research and studies

Get functional concepts, analyses and reports based on research data

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures and camps

Invite us to host an event nobody wants to miss

Read more

Information services and data-analysis

We solve the challenges of public sector information management.

Read more

Experimental Development

Test with us the bold attitude of learning together and get results quickly.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

27 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Marjo Alaviitala, M.A.

Specialist 050 329 4015 marjo.alaviitala@mdi.fi

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Development Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Rasmus Aro, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 187 1027 rasmus.aro@mdi.fi

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Lead Specialist +358 45 657 7890 timo.aro@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Benjamin Heikkinen, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 40 410 9310 benjamin.heikkinen@mdi.fi

Jaakko Huttunen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 44 970 7798 jaakko.huttunen@mdi.fi

Aleksi Koivisto, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 686 2604 aleksi.koivisto@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer +358 50 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Lead Specialist, Partner +358 50 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Anna Laiho, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 749 9758 anna.laiho@mdi.fi

Kaisa Lähteenmäki-Smith, PhD, (POL.SC.) & International Relations

Lead Specialist 050 513 4810 kaisa.lahteenmaki-smith@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, M.Soc.Sc. (Political Science)

Specialist +358 50 356 3980 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Minna Mayer, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 40 709 6898 minna.mayer@mdi.fi

Veera Mustonen, M.A.

Lead Specialist 040 508 4022 veera.mustonen@mdi.fi

Iida Mäkelä, B. Soc. Sc.

Specialist 044 588 7040 iida.makela@mdi.fi

Juho Nyman, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist +358 50 321 8790 juho.nyman@mdi.fi

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Lead Specialist +358 50 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist +358 40 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Henrika Ruokonen, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 848 5557 henrika.ruokonen@mdi.fi

Kirsi Siltanen, M. Sc. (Admin)

Specialist 040 667 4678 kirsi.siltanen@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, M.Sc.

Specialist +358 50 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Mikko Valtakari, Lic. Phil. (Planning Geography)

Lead Specialist, Partner +358 40 569 1568 mikko.valtakari@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Jarl Matti Anttila, M.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Partner, Board Member 041 439 2582 matti.anttila@mdi.fi

Kari Hannus, M. Sc. (Tech.)

Advisor, land use, housing and traffic, municipal economics +358 50 2970

Kristiina Erkkilä, Ph.D, M.A.

Advisor, education and urban development 040 705 3952

Kristiina Helenius, M.Sc. (Econ)

Advisor, International affairs, United States +358 45 122 6051 / +1 202 365 9174

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

Jari Kolehmainen, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Senior Advisor, urban and regional development +358 40 584 9077 jari.kolehmainen@mdi.fi

Natalia Rincon, M.Sc. Architecture, PHD candidate in Smart Cities

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 9359 824

Chris Smith, M.Litt (Strategic Studies), PhD Candidate in Public Administration

Advisor 040 757 7573 chris.smith@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor

Katja Syvärinen, M.A.

Advisor 050 463 7673

Anssi Uitto

Anssi Uitto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Partner, Board Member 040 527 3844 anssi.uitto@mdi.fi

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Erkki Virtanen, B. Pol. Sc.

Neuvonantaja, business policy

Established partners

Mari Dawe,

Client Manager +358 50 441 3209 mari.dawe@bstr.fi

Jouko Järnefelt,

Senior Analyst, Ubigu Oy 050 373 3638 jouko.jarnefelt@ubigu.fi

Eero Laesterä, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Chairperson of the Board, Perlacon Oy +358 400 735 772 eero.laestera@perlacon.fi

Jouko Luukkonen, M.Sc. (Admin.), MBA

Owner, entrepreneur, LGR-Consulting Oy +358 45 189 3138 jouko.luukkonen@kotinet.com

Minna Utriainen,

COO, Strategist, Avidly +358 40 834 4482 minna.utriainen@avidlyagency.com

Forum Virium

Impact Assessment of the Smart Kalasatama Project

Read more

TEM and OKM

Study on the effectiveness of short-term training to improve employment

Read more

SOSTE

Literature review of the effects of climate change on the social services sector

Read more

The Regional Council of South Karelia

Prospective study of South Karelia

Read more

A joint programme involving five ELY areas with the aim of achieving the rural, environmental and climate goals in the Finnish Lake District

MDI, in cooperation with the Natural Resources Institute Finland, implemented a process for the development of the Finnish Lake District’s Rural Environment and Climate Programme which supports the selection of rural development priorities for ELY Centres in the Finnish Lake District for the programme period 2021–2027. The ELY Centres of North Karelia, North Savo, Central … Continue reading A joint programme involving five ELY areas with the aim of achieving the rural, environmental and climate goals in the Finnish Lake District

Read more

The statistical and database requirements for the strengthening of the arts and culture field

We carried out a survey of the statistical and database requirements of the arts and culture sector for the Ministry of Education and Culture. According to the survey, the industry produces a large volume of statistics, but they are often not commensurable and are generally scattered across many locations. More expertise in the collection, production, … Continue reading The statistical and database requirements for the strengthening of the arts and culture field

Read more

Vision work develops Malmi as the centre of north-east Helsinki

MDI, together with the ‘New City collective‘, drafted a scenario and produced vision work on the development of the Malmi area for the City of Helsinki. The basis for this work is the need to develop Malmi as the new centre of northeast Helsinki. Malmi’s commercial services are concentrated in shopping centres, but the area … Continue reading Vision work develops Malmi as the centre of north-east Helsinki

Read more

Savonlinna is a phenomenal cultural city

MDI, the City of Savonlinna and the Regional Council of South Savo jointly achieved a common and new cultural strategy for Savonlinna and the wider Saimaa region during the autumn of 2019. What made the drafting process exceptional was its trans-regional nature, where the objectives of the cultural strategy serve the needs of the four … Continue reading Savonlinna is a phenomenal cultural city

Read more