Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

We help clients to see and do things in a new way.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Evaluations

Our goal is to improve the effectiveness of your operations through evaluation, information gathering and concrete development suggestions.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research and studies

Get functional concepts, analyses and reports based on research data

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures and camps

Invite us to host an event nobody wants to miss

Read more

Information services and data-analysis

We solve the challenges of public sector information management.

Read more

Experimental Development

Test with us the bold attitude of learning together and get results quickly.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

27 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Marjo Alaviitala, M.A.

Specialist 050 329 4015 marjo.alaviitala@mdi.fi

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Development Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Rasmus Aro, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 187 1027 rasmus.aro@mdi.fi

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Lead Specialist +358 45 657 7890 timo.aro@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Benjamin Heikkinen, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 40 410 9310 benjamin.heikkinen@mdi.fi

Jaakko Huttunen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 44 970 7798 jaakko.huttunen@mdi.fi

Maria Jussila, BC. SOC. SC.

Specialist, trainee maria.jussila@mdi.fi

Aleksi Koivisto, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 686 2604 aleksi.koivisto@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer +358 50 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Lead Specialist, Partner +358 50 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Anna Laiho, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 749 9758 anna.laiho@mdi.fi

Kaisa Lähteenmäki-Smith, PhD, (POL.SC.) & International Relations

Lead Specialist 050 513 4810 kaisa.lahteenmaki-smith@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, M.Soc.Sc. (Political Science)

Specialist +358 50 356 3980 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Minna Mayer, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 40 709 6898 minna.mayer@mdi.fi

Veera Mustonen, M.A.

Lead Specialist 040 508 4022 veera.mustonen@mdi.fi

Iida Mäkelä, B. Soc. Sc.

Specialist 044 588 7040 iida.makela@mdi.fi

Juho Nyman, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist +358 50 321 8790 juho.nyman@mdi.fi

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Lead Specialist +358 50 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist +358 40 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Henrika Ruokonen, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 848 5557 henrika.ruokonen@mdi.fi

Kirsi Siltanen, M. Sc. (Admin)

Specialist 040 667 4678 kirsi.siltanen@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, M.Sc.

Specialist +358 50 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Mikko Valtakari, Lic. Phil. (Planning Geography)

Lead Specialist, Partner +358 40 569 1568 mikko.valtakari@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Jarl Matti Anttila, M.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Partner, Board Member 041 439 2582 matti.anttila@mdi.fi

Kristiina Erkkilä, Ph.D, M.A.

Advisor, education and urban development 040 705 3952

Kari Hannus, M. Sc. (Tech.)

Advisor, land use, housing and traffic, municipal economics +358 50 2970

Kristiina Helenius, M.Sc. (Econ)

Advisor, International affairs, United States +358 45 122 6051 / +1 202 365 9174

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

Jari Kolehmainen, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Senior Advisor, urban and regional development +358 40 584 9077 jari.kolehmainen@mdi.fi

Lauri Lamminmäki, M. Pol. Sc

Advisor, municipal sector

Natalia Rincon, M.Sc. Architecture, PHD candidate in Smart Cities

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 9359 824

Chris Smith, M.Litt (Strategic Studies), PhD Candidate in Public Administration

Advisor 040 757 7573 chris.smith@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor

Antti Suvanto, Dr. Pol. Sc

Advisor, economy and finance

Katja Syvärinen, M.A.

Advisor 050 463 7673

Anssi Uitto

Anssi Uitto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Partner, Board Member 040 527 3844 anssi.uitto@mdi.fi

Eila Valtanen, M. Sc., eMBA

Advisor, municipalities, forest and wood cluster, the North 040 056 9716 lentualta@gmail.com

Matti Vatilo, Architect

Advisor mattivatilo@gmail.com

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Erkki Virtanen, B. Pol. Sc.

Neuvonantaja, business policy

Established partners

Mari Dawe,

Client Manager +358 50 441 3209 mari.dawe@bstr.fi

Jouko Järnefelt,

Senior Analyst, Ubigu Oy 050 373 3638 jouko.jarnefelt@ubigu.fi

Eero Laesterä, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Chairperson of the Board, Perlacon Oy +358 400 735 772 eero.laestera@perlacon.fi

Jouko Luukkonen, M.Sc. (Admin.), MBA

Owner, entrepreneur, LGR-Consulting Oy +358 45 189 3138 jouko.luukkonen@kotinet.com

Minna Utriainen,

COO, Strategist, Avidly +358 40 834 4482 minna.utriainen@avidlyagency.com

Municipality of Evijärvi

Development of Evijärvi business services

Read more

Regional Council of North Karelia

Innovation environments in North Karelia

Read more

Essote

Essote need adjusted social and healthcare expences

Read more

City of Oulu

Investigation of operation conditions of the model of agile piloting within the city of Oulu.

Read more

Article: Corona-proofing the governance system of scientific advice

The current state of emergency challenges us on many levels. Above all, it challenges the crisis preparedness and resilience of our institutions and their commitment to good governance. The value of scientific knowledge is underlined at a time when the health crisis caused by COVID19 demonstrates every day how deeply vulnerable is our society. Our … Continue reading Article: Corona-proofing the governance system of scientific advice

Read more

Towards a more sustainable multi-local Finland

The COVID-19 crisis brought remote work  into the everyday life of Finns at a rapid pace this spring. While some went straight to telecommuting, the initial multi-locality of others, i.e. the composition of everyday habitats from several different places and the movement between them, has been curtailed due to the government’s exceptional circumstances legislation. Multi-locality … Continue reading Towards a more sustainable multi-local Finland

Read more

Doing an internship by working from home

Last week, we welcomed our new trainee Maria Jussila, who, given the current ‘exceptional circumstances’ must now complete her internship from home. “It feels that I got along nicely with my colleagues, despite working remotely. The work has gone well remotely. Work requires concentration and long periods of uninterrupted time, so making it from home … Continue reading Doing an internship by working from home

Read more

The ‘Say It With Pictures’ competition will be relaunched in the autumn of 2020

The competition jury has decided to postpone the ‘Say it with pictures’ competition which was open to everyone. The competition will be relaunched in autumn 2020. The timing of the competition in the middle of the global emergency was not favourable. The competition goals will not be met, so the organiser has asked the jury … Continue reading The ‘Say It With Pictures’ competition will be relaunched in the autumn of 2020

Read more