Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

MDI spars and designs development strategies and programme preparation.

We guide our customers through the strategy work, design development programmes, and draw enthusiastic roadmaps for the future.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Sparring evaluations

We strive for sparring and interactive evaluations.

We carry out sparring ex ante, interim and ex post evaluations of development programmes and organisations with an urge for development.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research, studies and experiments

MDI carries out both long-term research and rapid, practical studies.

We carry out both long-term studies and various rapid, practical studies and inspiring experiments for new approaches.

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures, camps

MDI stands out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, development camps and lectures.

We stand out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, intensive and creative development camps and expert lectures on regional development and networked society.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

23 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Janne Antikainen

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Development Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Elina Auri, M.A.

Specialist 050 351 3023 elina.auri@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist, Partner 050 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist 040 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer 050 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Kristiina Lahti, B.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist, Trainee 040 653 7384 kristiina.lahti@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, B.Soc.Sc. (Sociology)

Specialist, Trainee 050 356 8863 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist 040 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Senior Advisor, Rural Policy 050 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Tytti Isokangas

Tytti Isokangas, M.A. (Adult Education)

Senior Advisor, Experimental Culture +358 40 556 0804 tytti.isokangas@mdi.fi

Timo Aro

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Senior Advisor, Regional Policy timo.aro@mdi.fi

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor osmo@soininvaara.fi

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor, Partner 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Jarl Matti Anttila, M.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Partner, Board Member 041 439 2582 matti.anttila@mdi.fi

Anssi Uitto

Anssi Uitto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Partner, Board Member 040 527 3844 anssi.uitto@mdi.fi

Tero Vuorinen

Tero Vuorinen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor, Strategies +358 536 7179 tero.vuorinen@mdi.fi

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

Perttu Vartiainen

Perttu Vartiainen, D.Phil. (Geo)

Senior Advisor, Regional Policy perttu.vartiainen@mdi.fi

City of Kouvola

Strategy sparring for City of Kouvola

Read more

Several clients e.g. DG Regio

International evaluations and studies

Read more

City of Seinäjoki

Seinäjoki ROASTED strategy sparring

Read more

Into Seinäjoki Ltd

Komia Camp 2015 and 2016

Read more

MDI examines the Tampere-Seinäjoki-Vaasa-Umeå growth corridor

In the development of growth corridors, it is essential to find a common strategic vision beyond the administrative boundaries in order to avoid partial optimization. The study focuses on linking the Western Finland provinces of Central Ostrobothnia, Ostrobothnia and Southern Ostrobothnia to the main growth corridor of Finland running from Tampere to Helsinki, and on … Continue reading MDI examines the Tampere-Seinäjoki-Vaasa-Umeå growth corridor

Read more

National development projects and coordination projects to be evaluated by MDI

The evaluation of national development projects and coordination projects within the Rural Development Programme for Mainland Finland 2014–2020 as well as national development projects during the previous programming period is part of the evaluation plan for the current programming period. MDI has been appointed to carry out the evaluation in cooperation with TK-Eval. The objective … Continue reading National development projects and coordination projects to be evaluated by MDI

Read more

Mikkeli Development Miksei clarifies it’s mission with MDI

The field of activity of regional development companies is undergoing major changes. With the regional reform and the redefinition of vitality tasks of municipalities, and the long-term changes in the EU regional development, development companies have to clarify their core tasks and role in the field of regional development. The traditional three tasks have been … Continue reading Mikkeli Development Miksei clarifies it’s mission with MDI

Read more

Evaluation of Linke project

The employment services (Avanti) in Seinäjoki city is currently implementing a project called Linke. Linke aims at supporting the job-seeking customers’ abilities related to employment and education. The project activities include expert guidance for customers, support and encouragement for developing readiness for employment and education and in seeking new opportunities. The project is part-funded by … Continue reading Evaluation of Linke project

Read more