Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

MDI spars and designs development strategies and programme preparation.

We guide our customers through the strategy work, design development programmes, and draw enthusiastic roadmaps for the future.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Sparring evaluations

We strive for sparring and interactive evaluations.

We carry out sparring ex ante, interim and ex post evaluations of development programmes and organisations with an urge for development.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research, studies and experiments

MDI carries out both long-term research and rapid, practical studies.

We carry out both long-term studies and various rapid, practical studies and inspiring experiments for new approaches.

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures, camps

MDI stands out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, development camps and lectures.

We stand out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, intensive and creative development camps and expert lectures on regional development and networked society.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

27 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Development Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 45 657 7890 timo.aro@mdi.fi

Elina Auri, M.A.

Specialist +358 50 351 3023 elina.auri@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist, Partner +358 50 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Benjamin Heikkinen, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 40 410 9310 benjamin.heikkinen@mdi.fi

Jaakko Huttunen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 665 2356 jaakko.huttunen@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, B.Soc.Sc. (Sociology)

Specialist +358 50 356 3980 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Minna Mayer, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 40 709 6898 minna.mayer@mdi.fi

Iida Mäkelä, B.Soc.Sc.

Specialist, trainee +358 44 588 7040 iida.makela@mdi.fi

Juho Nyman, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist +358 50 321 8790 juho.nyman@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist +358 40 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Specialist +358 50 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, M.Sc.

Specialist +358 50 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Jere Talvitie, B.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist, trainee +358 50 301 4698 jere.talvitie@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Mikko Valtakari, Lic. Phil. (Planning Geography)

Specialist, partner +358 40 569 1568 mikko.valtakari@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer +358 50 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Jari Kolehmainen, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Senior Advisor, urban and regional development +358 40 584 9077 jari.kolehmainen@mdi.fi

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor osmo@soininvaara.fi

Kristiina Helenius, M.Sc. (Econ)

Advisor, International affairs, United States +358 45 122 6051 / +1 202 365 9174 kristiina.helenius@nordicwestoffice.com

Natalia Rincon, arkkit., Ph.D.-jatko-opiskelija

Neuvonantaja, kaupunkipolitiikka 040 9359 824 natalia.rincon@chaosarchitects.com

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

Jarl Matti Anttila, M.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Partner, Board Member 041 439 2582 matti.anttila@mdi.fi

Anssi Uitto

Anssi Uitto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Partner, Board Member 040 527 3844 anssi.uitto@mdi.fi

Established partners

Jouko Luukkonen, M.Sc. (Admin.), MBA

Owner, entrepreneur, LGR-Consulting Oy +358 45 189 3138 jouko.luukkonen@kotinet.com

Eero Laesterä, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Chairperson of the Board, Perlacon Oy +358 400 735 772 eero.laestera@perlacon.fi

Mari Dawe,

Client Manager +358 50 441 3209 mari.dawe@bstr.fi

Minna Utriainen,

COO, Strategist, Nitroid xD Oy +358 40 834 4482 minna.utriainen@nitroid.fi

City of Kouvola

Strategy sparring for City of Kouvola

Read more

Several clients e.g. DG Regio

International evaluations and studies

Read more

City of Seinäjoki

Seinäjoki ROASTED strategy sparring

Read more

Into Seinäjoki Ltd

Komia Camp 2015 and 2016

Read more

MDI compiles Kirkkonummi’s vitality and wellbeing programmes

The municipality of Kirkkonummi prepared its municipal strategy last year. Now the strategy is embodied with vitality and wellbeing programs. MDI helps municipality of Kirkkonummi by analyzing the comments from the preliminary version of programmes and matching them together. In practice, MDI processes the programmes. The work includes a few sparring sessions with the municipal … Continue reading MDI compiles Kirkkonummi’s vitality and wellbeing programmes

Read more

Statistical and spatial data analysis about the national and regional importance of Major Highway 5

MDI conducts a statistical and spatial data analysis for the Regional Councils of Southern and Northern Savo about the national and regional importance of Major Highway 5. The aim of the study is to focus on connections between regional development and traffic connections, traffic policy and accessibility bearing in mind that decisions and solutions related … Continue reading Statistical and spatial data analysis about the national and regional importance of Major Highway 5

Read more

Current state and future analysis of Kainuu Region

MDI conducts a study about the current state of Kainuu Region and helps the Regional Council of Kainuu to gather scenarios for the future. Aside from the statistical analysis, insights from the political representatives, employees and stakeholders are gathered related to values, services, strenghts and weaknesses of the coming Kainuu Region. The results will be … Continue reading Current state and future analysis of Kainuu Region

Read more

Study on private service providers promoting business enterprises and employment

The health, social services and regional government reform and its reform on growth services (business enterprises and employment promotion) gathers public employment services and business promotion services and opens them up for private service providers. MDI conducts a study with NHG Consulting Ltd about the current state of service businesses and about private service providers’ … Continue reading Study on private service providers promoting business enterprises and employment

Read more