Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

MDI spars and designs development strategies and programme preparation.

We guide our customers through the strategy work, design development programmes, and draw enthusiastic roadmaps for the future.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Sparring evaluations

We strive for sparring and interactive evaluations.

We carry out sparring ex ante, interim and ex post evaluations of development programmes and organisations with an urge for development.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research, studies and experiments

MDI carries out both long-term research and rapid, practical studies.

We carry out both long-term studies and various rapid, practical studies and inspiring experiments for new approaches.

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures, camps

MDI stands out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, development camps and lectures.

We stand out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, intensive and creative development camps and expert lectures on regional development and networked society.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

23 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Janne Antikainen

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Development Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist (joins the team 6th Nov 2017) +358 45 657 7890 timo.aro@mdi.fi

Benjamin Heikkinen, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 40 410 9310 benjamin.heikkinen@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist 040 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Elina Auri, M.A.

Specialist 050 351 3023 elina.auri@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist, Partner 050 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Kristiina Lahti, B.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist 040 653 7384 kristiina.lahti@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, B.Soc.Sc. (Sociology)

Specialist 050 356 3980 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Juho Nyman, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist +358 50 321 8790 juho.nyman@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist 040 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, B.Sc.

Specialist 050 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Mikko Valtakari, Lic. Phil. (Planning Geography)

Specialist, partner +358 40 569 1568 mikko.valtakari@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer 050 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Senior Advisor, Rural Policy 050 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor osmo@soininvaara.fi

Tytti Isokangas

Tytti Isokangas, M.A. (Adult Education)

Senior Advisor, Experimental Culture +358 40 556 0804 tytti.isokangas@mdi.fi

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor, Partner 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Jarl Matti Anttila, M.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Partner, Board Member 041 439 2582 matti.anttila@mdi.fi

Anssi Uitto

Anssi Uitto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Partner, Board Member 040 527 3844 anssi.uitto@mdi.fi

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

City of Kouvola

Strategy sparring for City of Kouvola

Read more

Several clients e.g. DG Regio

International evaluations and studies

Read more

City of Seinäjoki

Seinäjoki ROASTED strategy sparring

Read more

Into Seinäjoki Ltd

Komia Camp 2015 and 2016

Read more

Plans for developing town centres

Four municipalities in the Upper Savo region are seeking to boost their attractiveness and vitality by developing town centres. The city of Iisalmi and municipalities of Lapinlahti, Sonkajärvi and Vieremä have conducted a survey to scan the thoughts and ideas for the development of services in the town centres from inhabitants, businesses and other stakeholders … Continue reading Plans for developing town centres

Read more

Workshops related to tasks for promoting biodiversity

The regional reform has its effects on the tasks related to the protection of nature and biodiversity. Some of the tasks are appointed to regions with self-government and some to the National Licensing and Supervisory Authority, Luova. To clarify the future tasks and roles, MDI has been appointed to run a set of four regional … Continue reading Workshops related to tasks for promoting biodiversity

Read more

How does Helsinki compare with other cities in the Northern Europe?

Helsinki metropolitan area has fallen behind its competitors in terms of economic performance and population growth in the Baltic Sea region during the current decade. In a world of urbanisation, Finland needs a successful metropolis with sustainable growth ecologically, socially and economically. MDI has launched a research project tackling the development of Helsinki metropolitan area based on statistics on … Continue reading How does Helsinki compare with other cities in the Northern Europe?

Read more

Mikko Valtakari and Juho Nyman to wear MDI red

The September transfer market continues busy. MDI made top-notch midfield acquisitions as Lic. Phil. Mikko Valtakari and M.Sc. Juho Nyman join the team from the beginning of October. Both men are sure-handed and hardworking and they bring about winning culture and also some new tricks. Signing of the pair gives a massive boost to MDI’s … Continue reading Mikko Valtakari and Juho Nyman to wear MDI red

Read more