Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

MDI spars and designs development strategies and programme preparation.

We guide our customers through the strategy work, design development programmes, and draw enthusiastic roadmaps for the future.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Sparring evaluations

We strive for sparring and interactive evaluations.

We carry out sparring ex ante, interim and ex post evaluations of development programmes and organisations with an urge for development.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research, studies and experiments

MDI carries out both long-term research and rapid, practical studies.

We carry out both long-term studies and various rapid, practical studies and inspiring experiments for new approaches.

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures, camps

MDI stands out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, development camps and lectures.

We stand out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, intensive and creative development camps and expert lectures on regional development and networked society.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

27 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Marjo Alaviitala, M.A.

Specialist 050 329 4015 marjo.alaviitala@mdi.fi

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Design Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Rasmus Aro, B.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 187 1027 rasmus.aro@mdi.fi

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 45 657 7890 timo.aro@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Benjamin Heikkinen, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 40 410 9310 benjamin.heikkinen@mdi.fi

Jouko Järnefelt, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist 050 373 3638 jouko.jarnefelt@mdi.fi

Aleksi Koivisto, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 686 2604 aleksi.koivisto@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer +358 50 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Jaakko Huttunen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 44 970 7798 jaakko.huttunen@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist, Partner +358 50 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Anna Laiho, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 749 9758 anna.laiho@mdi.fi

Kaisa Lähteenmäki-Smith, PhD, (POL.SC.) & International Relations

Development Director 050 513 4810 kaisa.lahteenmaki-smith@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, B.Soc.Sc. (Sociology)

Specialist +358 50 356 3980 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Juho Nyman, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist +358 50 321 8790 juho.nyman@mdi.fi

Minna Mayer, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 40 709 6898 minna.mayer@mdi.fi

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Specialist +358 50 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist +358 40 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Henrika Ruokonen, M.SC. (ADMIN.)

Specialist 040 848 5557 henrika.ruokonen@mdi.fi

Kirsi Siltanen, M. Sc. (Admin)

Specialist 040 667 4678 kirsi.siltanen@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, M.Sc.

Specialist +358 50 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Jere Talvitie, B.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 50 301 4698 jere.talvitie@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Mikko Valtakari, Lic. Phil. (Planning Geography)

Specialist, partner +358 40 569 1568 mikko.valtakari@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Jari Kolehmainen, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Senior Advisor, urban and regional development +358 40 584 9077 jari.kolehmainen@mdi.fi

Chris Smith, M.Litt (Strategic Studies), PhD Candidate in Public Administration

Advisor 040 757 7573 chris.smith@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor

Kari Hannus, M. Sc. (Tech.)

Advisor, land use, housing and traffic, municipal economics +358 50 2970

Kristiina Helenius, M.Sc. (Econ)

Advisor, International affairs, United States +358 45 122 6051 / +1 202 365 9174

Natalia Rincon, M.Sc. Architecture, PHD candidate in Smart Cities

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 9359 824

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Jarl Matti Anttila, M.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Partner, Board Member 041 439 2582 matti.anttila@mdi.fi

Anssi Uitto

Anssi Uitto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Partner, Board Member 040 527 3844 anssi.uitto@mdi.fi

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

Established partners

Jouko Luukkonen, M.Sc. (Admin.), MBA

Owner, entrepreneur, LGR-Consulting Oy +358 45 189 3138 jouko.luukkonen@kotinet.com

Eero Laesterä, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Chairperson of the Board, Perlacon Oy +358 400 735 772 eero.laestera@perlacon.fi

Mari Dawe,

Client Manager +358 50 441 3209 mari.dawe@bstr.fi

Minna Utriainen,

COO, Strategist, Avidly +358 40 834 4482 minna.utriainen@avidlyagency.com

City of Kouvola

Strategy sparring for City of Kouvola

Read more

Several clients e.g. DG Regio

International evaluations and studies

Read more

City of Seinäjoki

Seinäjoki ROASTED strategy sparring

Read more

Into Seinäjoki Ltd

Komia Camp 2015 and 2016

Read more

Population forecast for region of South Ostrobotnia

MDI calculated a specific population forecast for the region of South Ostrobotnia based on the forecast model designed in February 2019. In addition, a general overview of the expected prognosis on a municipal level was produced. In the regional forecast, the three basic elements of the population were considered: natural population growth, migration, and immigration. … Continue reading Population forecast for region of South Ostrobotnia

Read more

MDI reviewed the preparation of the health and social services reform – the process was marked by uncertainty and ambiguity

Our report on the preparation of the provincial and social reform has now been published. The final report highlights both the challenges and successes of the reform process. The major legislative project of ex-Prime Minister Juha Sipilä’s Government’s was the reform of the regional administration encompassing also a major reform to the healthcare system. Preparation … Continue reading MDI reviewed the preparation of the health and social services reform – the process was marked by uncertainty and ambiguity

Read more

MDI to study the preconditions for expanding free pre-school education in Tampere City Region

MDI will study the current state of pre-school education, specifically, the costs of and preconditions for the extension of free pre-school education to Tampere City Region. The report describes the current state of pre-school education in the municipalities of the urban area, develops the comparability of the pre-primary education and economic data on the municipalities, … Continue reading MDI to study the preconditions for expanding free pre-school education in Tampere City Region

Read more

The ’Ring Rail Line’ has given a strong growth boost to Vantaa – a national framework is needed to evaluate the wider impacts

On a national scale, Vantaa’s Ring Rail Line is a major investment in transport which will have a significant impact on land use and infrastructure. The significance of the track is much greater than just the traffic flow. It is a user interface that influences Vantaa’s ability to absorb the growth of the metropolitan area … Continue reading The ’Ring Rail Line’ has given a strong growth boost to Vantaa – a national framework is needed to evaluate the wider impacts

Read more