Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

MDI spars and designs development strategies and programme preparation.

We guide our customers through the strategy work, design development programmes, and draw enthusiastic roadmaps for the future.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Sparring evaluations

We strive for sparring and interactive evaluations.

We carry out sparring ex ante, interim and ex post evaluations of development programmes and organisations with an urge for development.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research, studies and experiments

MDI carries out both long-term research and rapid, practical studies.

We carry out both long-term studies and various rapid, practical studies and inspiring experiments for new approaches.

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures, camps

MDI stands out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, development camps and lectures.

We stand out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, intensive and creative development camps and expert lectures on regional development and networked society.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

23 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Janne Antikainen

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Development Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 45 657 7890 timo.aro@mdi.fi

Benjamin Heikkinen, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 40 410 9310 benjamin.heikkinen@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist 040 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Elina Auri, M.A.

Specialist 050 351 3023 elina.auri@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist, Partner 050 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Kristiina Lahti, B.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist 040 653 7384 kristiina.lahti@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, B.Soc.Sc. (Sociology)

Specialist 050 356 3980 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Juho Nyman, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist +358 50 321 8790 juho.nyman@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist 040 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, B.Sc.

Specialist 050 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Mikko Valtakari, Lic. Phil. (Planning Geography)

Specialist, partner +358 40 569 1568 mikko.valtakari@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer 050 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Senior Advisor, Rural Policy 050 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor osmo@soininvaara.fi

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor, Partner 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Jarl Matti Anttila, M.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Partner, Board Member 041 439 2582 matti.anttila@mdi.fi

Anssi Uitto

Anssi Uitto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Partner, Board Member 040 527 3844 anssi.uitto@mdi.fi

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

City of Kouvola

Strategy sparring for City of Kouvola

Read more

Several clients e.g. DG Regio

International evaluations and studies

Read more

City of Seinäjoki

Seinäjoki ROASTED strategy sparring

Read more

Into Seinäjoki Ltd

Komia Camp 2015 and 2016

Read more

MDI compiles the regional database of culture

The on-going administrative changes and the effective implementation of policy measures require a strong and accurate knowledge base and a snapshot of the development of the regions. Regional data is needed in the implementation of the Cultural Policy Strategy 2025 and in the development of regional guidelines for art and culture. Information is also needed … Continue reading MDI compiles the regional database of culture

Read more

Study on European Island and Waterways Policies

Europe, the continent of lakes and rivers, is surrounded by seas. Archipelago’s living conditions are unequal compared to the continent with good connections. In Finland, island policy has long history and is based on economically, environmentally, socially and culturally sustainable regional development. Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry has given an assignment to MDI to study … Continue reading Study on European Island and Waterways Policies

Read more

MDI Helps to Pave the Way to the Future in Ostrobothnia

After the turn of the year, the Regional Council of Ostrobothnia will launch a forecast pilot. We have the pleasure to pave the way to the future. MDI will organise two workshops during the trip, and activate actors to build the future on Inforglobe platform (which has been developed for Martti Ahtisaari’s CMI’s efforts, and … Continue reading MDI Helps to Pave the Way to the Future in Ostrobothnia

Read more

Vitality programme for Forssa region

Forssa region includes the city of Forssa and the municipalities of Tammela, Jokioinen, Humppila and Ypäjä. Region is located next to the city of Hämeenlinna, in the middle of Finnish growth triangle Helsinki-Tampere-Turku. Municipalities have jointly decided to boost the vitality in the region and to design a vitality programme to further guide the work. … Continue reading Vitality programme for Forssa region

Read more