Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

MDI spars and designs development strategies and programme preparation.

We guide our customers through the strategy work, design development programmes, and draw enthusiastic roadmaps for the future.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Sparring evaluations

We strive for sparring and interactive evaluations.

We carry out sparring ex ante, interim and ex post evaluations of development programmes and organisations with an urge for development.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research, studies and experiments

MDI carries out both long-term research and rapid, practical studies.

We carry out both long-term studies and various rapid, practical studies and inspiring experiments for new approaches.

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures, camps

MDI stands out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, development camps and lectures.

We stand out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, intensive and creative development camps and expert lectures on regional development and networked society.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

27 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Marjo Alaviitala, M.A.

Specialist 050 329 4015 marjo.alaviitala@mdi.fi

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Development Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Rasmus Aro, B.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 187 1027 rasmus.aro@mdi.fi

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 45 657 7890 timo.aro@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Benjamin Heikkinen, M.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 40 410 9310 benjamin.heikkinen@mdi.fi

Jaakko Huttunen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 44 970 7798 jaakko.huttunen@mdi.fi

Jouko Järnefelt, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist 050 373 3638 jouko.jarnefelt@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist, Partner +358 50 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Anna Laiho, M.SOC.SC.

Specialist 040 749 9758 anna.laiho@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, B.Soc.Sc. (Sociology)

Specialist +358 50 356 3980 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Minna Mayer, D.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 40 709 6898 minna.mayer@mdi.fi

Iida Mäkelä, B.Soc.Sc.

Specialist +358 44 588 7040 iida.makela@mdi.fi

Juho Nyman, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist +358 50 321 8790 juho.nyman@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist +358 40 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Specialist +358 50 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Kirsi Siltanen, M. Sc. (Admin)

Specialist 040 667 4678 kirsi.siltanen@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, M.Sc.

Specialist +358 50 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Jere Talvitie, B.Sc. (Admin.)

Specialist +358 50 301 4698 jere.talvitie@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Mikko Valtakari, Lic. Phil. (Planning Geography)

Specialist, partner +358 40 569 1568 mikko.valtakari@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer +358 50 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Kari Hannus, M. Sc. (Tech.)

Advisor, land use, housing and traffic, municipal economics +358 50 2970

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor

Kristiina Helenius, M.Sc. (Econ)

Advisor, International affairs, United States +358 45 122 6051 / +1 202 365 9174

Jari Kolehmainen, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Senior Advisor, urban and regional development +358 40 584 9077 jari.kolehmainen@mdi.fi

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Natalia Rincon, M.Sc. Architecture, PHD candidate in Smart Cities

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 9359 824

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

Jarl Matti Anttila, M.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Partner, Board Member 041 439 2582 matti.anttila@mdi.fi

Anssi Uitto

Anssi Uitto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Partner, Board Member 040 527 3844 anssi.uitto@mdi.fi

Established partners

Jouko Luukkonen, M.Sc. (Admin.), MBA

Owner, entrepreneur, LGR-Consulting Oy +358 45 189 3138 jouko.luukkonen@kotinet.com

Eero Laesterä, D.Sc. (Admin.)

Chairperson of the Board, Perlacon Oy +358 400 735 772 eero.laestera@perlacon.fi

Mari Dawe,

Client Manager +358 50 441 3209 mari.dawe@bstr.fi

Minna Utriainen,

COO, Strategist, Avidly +358 40 834 4482 minna.utriainen@avidlyagency.com

City of Kouvola

Strategy sparring for City of Kouvola

Read more

Several clients e.g. DG Regio

International evaluations and studies

Read more

City of Seinäjoki

Seinäjoki ROASTED strategy sparring

Read more

Into Seinäjoki Ltd

Komia Camp 2015 and 2016

Read more

Interreg Central Baltic Programme under MDI’s examination

Interreg Central Baltic Programme 2014–2020 is one of EU’s cross-border co-operation programmes implemented around the Baltic Sea Region. Programme area includes Finland (incl. Åland island), Sweden, Estonia, and Latvia. Programme has four thematic priorities and the Programme seeks to add value through cross-border cooperation to address common challenges. So far, 97 projects have been approved … Continue reading Interreg Central Baltic Programme under MDI’s examination

Read more

MDI compiles the background data for the new economic policy of Nokia City

The City of Nokia is updating its economic policy. MDI compiled the latest statistics and made a vitality analysis regarding Nokia’s business, employment situation, attraction and municipal economy dynamics to support the update of the policy. The analysis concerned the time after the financial crisis, 2008-2017. The analysis underlays the emphasis and choices in Nokia’s … Continue reading MDI compiles the background data for the new economic policy of Nokia City

Read more

MDI studied co-operation structures in the field of welfare and education

Due to ongoing regional reform a new interface will appear between municipalities and self-governing counties. In addition to tasks and responsibilities that are being transferred to counties, new interface is particularly interesting from the point of view of tasks and duties that remain in municipalities. These tasks include promotion of citizen’s welfare and education. MDI … Continue reading MDI studied co-operation structures in the field of welfare and education

Read more

Regional mobility report in Growth Corridor Finland

MDI makes a pre-report regarding mobility in Growth Corridor Finland. Regional mobility relates to migration, commuting and work-related mobility. The pre-report includes literature review of the factors and special characteristics which affect regional mobility. Additionally, a survey of regional mobility related national information reserve is made. Based on the literature review and the survey of … Continue reading Regional mobility report in Growth Corridor Finland

Read more