Strategiat ja ohjelmat

Strategies and programmes

MDI spars and designs development strategies and programme preparation.

We guide our customers through the strategy work, design development programmes, and draw enthusiastic roadmaps for the future.

Read more

Arvioinnit

Sparring evaluations

We strive for sparring and interactive evaluations.

We carry out sparring ex ante, interim and ex post evaluations of development programmes and organisations with an urge for development.

Read more

Tutkimukset ja selvitykset

Research, studies and experiments

MDI carries out both long-term research and rapid, practical studies.

We carry out both long-term studies and various rapid, practical studies and inspiring experiments for new approaches.

Read more

Työpajat, luennot ja leirit

Workshops, lectures, camps

MDI stands out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, development camps and lectures.

We stand out with inspiring and stimulating workshops, intensive and creative development camps and expert lectures on regional development and networked society.

Read more

MDI in numbers

1 main thought, idea and goal – regional development with impact

3 offices

23 experts

100+ workshops annually

500+ tailored thematic interviews

3 000+ participants in workshops and events

20 000+ respondents in our surveys

100 000+ kilometres by train to meet our clients

Us

MDI Team

Janne Antikainen

Janne Antikainen, Lic.Phil. (Human Geography)

Development Director, Partner, Chairman +358 40 764 1829 janne.antikainen@mdi.fi

Tommi Ranta

Tommi Ranta, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Managing Director, Partner +358 40 588 2839 tommi.ranta@mdi.fi

Elina Auri, M.A.

Specialist 050 351 3023 elina.auri@mdi.fi

Valtteri Laasonen

Valtteri Laasonen, M.Sc. (Geo)

Specialist, Partner 050 533 0604 valtteri.laasonen@mdi.fi

Susanna Haanpää, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist 040 936 8863 susanna.haanpaa@mdi.fi

Ilppo Soininvaara, B.Sc.

Specialist 050 411 0980 ilppo.soininvaara@mdi.fi

Sinikukka Pyykkönen

Sinikukka Pyykkönen, M.Sc. (Admin.), B.Sc. (Pol.Sc.)

Specialist 040 846 0846 sinikukka.pyykkonen@mdi.fi

Satu Tolonen

Satu Tolonen, M.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist +358 40 704 3247 satu.tolonen@mdi.fi

Anssi Kumpula

Anssi Kumpula, B.Sc. (Econ.)

Graphic Designer 050 357 9252 anssi.kumpula@mdi.fi

Kristiina Lahti, B.Sc. (Planning Geography)

Specialist, Trainee 040 653 7384 kristiina.lahti@mdi.fi

Samuli Manu, B.Soc.Sc. (Sociology)

Specialist, Trainee 050 356 8863 samuli.manu@mdi.fi

Advisor Team

Sari Rannanpää, M.Phil.

Senior Advisor, Rural Policy 050 523 6872 sari.rannanpaa@mdi.fi

Timo Aro

Timo Aro, D.Soc.Sc.

Senior Advisor, Regional Policy timo.aro@mdi.fi

Eero Holstila

Eero Holstila, M.Sc.Soc.

Senior Advisor, Urban Policy 050 567 2087 eero.holstila@mdi.fi

Timo Hämäläinen

Timo Hämäläinen, M.Sc., M.A.

Advisor, Urban Policy 040 510 0313 timo.hamalainen@mdi.fi

Osmo Soininvaara, Lic. (Soc. Sci.)

Senior Policy Advisor osmo@soininvaara.fi

Tytti Isokangas

Tytti Isokangas, M.A. (Adult Education)

Senior Advisor, Experimental Culture +358 40 556 0804 tytti.isokangas@mdi.fi

Jukka Vesalainen

Jukka Vesalainen, D.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Senior Advisor, Partner 050 562 5048 jukka.vesalainen@mdi.fi

Jarl Matti Anttila, M.Sc. (Econ. & BA)

Partner, Board Member 041 439 2582 matti.anttila@mdi.fi

Anssi Uitto

Anssi Uitto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Partner, Board Member 040 527 3844 anssi.uitto@mdi.fi

Petri Jalasto

Petri Jalasto, M.Sc. (Tech.)

Senior Advisor, Transport Policy petri.jalasto@mdi.fi

City of Kouvola

Strategy sparring for City of Kouvola

Read more

Several clients e.g. DG Regio

International evaluations and studies

Read more

City of Seinäjoki

Seinäjoki ROASTED strategy sparring

Read more

Into Seinäjoki Ltd

Komia Camp 2015 and 2016

Read more

MDI Examines the Vitality Services of Small Cities in Regional Reform

Small cities play an important role in the vitality of the whole country. Small cities are currently heavily influenced by the changes in the operating environment. The roles and services in developing the vitality of regions are currently being redesigned in the regional reform. The reform will change the division of labor between municipalities and … Continue reading MDI Examines the Vitality Services of Small Cities in Regional Reform

Read more

Strategy process for Kuortane

Kuortane is a municipality of about 3700 inhabitants located in South Ostrobotnia region in Finland. Kuortane is set to renew its strategy during the autumn 2017. MDI helps in designing the content of the strategy by planning, organsing and implementing a two-day strategy seminar for the local councillors and management group of Kuortane. Before the … Continue reading Strategy process for Kuortane

Read more

8th National Rural Network meeting & innovation camp in Central Finland

MDI faciltiated the innovation camp for European National Rural Networks in Central Finland on 27 – 28 June 2017. The camp, which was hosted by the Finnish National Rural Network, focused on concrete actions with which the NRNs can promote the themes of Cork 2.0 declaration. 54 rural network experts from twenty European countries participated … Continue reading 8th National Rural Network meeting & innovation camp in Central Finland

Read more

MDI educates councillors and helps to prepare municipal strategy for the City of Raahe

In August-September, MDI participates in training of elected councillors and spars the development of the municipal strategy of the City of Raahe. In the initial phase, the fundamentals, objectives and significance of the strategy are examined. The actual intensive sparring and development work takes place in few weeks time in September, which also includes staff … Continue reading MDI educates councillors and helps to prepare municipal strategy for the City of Raahe

Read more